h1

We Need to Blog

September 13, 2010

So what’s the big deal about blogs?

Why are blogs so important that there are literally hundreds of
millions of them?

Having a company blog is valuable for the following four reasons.

1. Blogs allow your business to seem personable as opposed to
being just a cold, heartless, money driven business. By becoming personable
you can build a rapport with your audience. Needless to say, a
business with a strong customer relationship will become
much more successful than one without.

2. Blogs allow you to give custom-made messages to your audience. It’s like
free advertising. It used to be that you had to pay to get an
advertisement published, but now you can do it for free. However, make sure
it doesn’t look like you are advertising. Be subtile.

3. Blogs provide your target markets a medium through which to
communicate with you. This is an excellent way to monitor what people are
saying about your business and get free feedback from the
people you are interested in reaching.

4. Blogs are great for increasing traffic to your Facebook, Twitter, or
website pages.

Blogs are valuable. If you don’t have one I would suggest that you consider starting one.

Thanks for reading,

~Joshua Lyons

4 comments

  1. Hi Joshua – great summary of the benefits of blogging. Don’t forget dynamic content – search engines (and people) love content that is continually updated and fresh.


  2. My blog also gives me the opportunity to link to my company’s website. Hello, Google spider!


  3. Great post. I like to think of blogging as the way to continue the conversation after you hook someone on Facebook or Twitter.


  4. Josh, I’m so glad someone else is picking up on tip #1. Yes, blogs can make us very personable. When you think about it, when you pull up to your pc with a cup of coffee at certain times of the day for some leisurely email checking and catching up, you’re not looking for more pitches. We’re bombarded all day long to buy this and see why someone is the greatest. So my blog began before my business and I was just focused on putting the *social* back into social media. Now that I manage social media for others, it’s a pleasure when someone comments on how well I get it and that makes them very comfortable with me. Knowing that I’m not just about the pitch, but I’m also about getting to *know* and collaborate with my followers throughout LinkedIn, Twitter, even my blog and other avenues.

    Here’s another tip. Whatever your profession is, every now and again, find the time to do a search for people asking questions about what you know. I’ve joined random groups associated with everything from cooking to administrative assistants. If I can answer a question for someone, they see me as an asset and they’ll follow me anywhere for offering something for absolutely nothing.

    Use your social media powerfully; not just for pitching. It will serve you well far into the future in ways you can’t even imagine. Opportunities don’t just come through business contacts.



Leave a Reply

